top of page
Search

Tips for the beginning toy collector.

Today I wanted to offer a few tips for the new collector. Now, it is important to understand that, while this advice is good, nothing is set in stone. Still, the following tips and tricks will help you get started and will likely make your collecting life a bit easier.


The first tip I have is focus! Collecting can be daunting and it isn’t always easy to know where to begin. Saying “I want to collect 80’s action figures.” is a very broad statement and you will find yourself ping-ponging all over the place trying to find anything and everything. I recommend setting your focus on one or two lines first, and maybe even narrowing that down more. For example: “I want to start with Star Wars” will help, but Star Wars is a huge collection to tackle. I recommend honing it down. Maybe you go after only the figures from Empire first, or anything from Hoth. After you complete that portion you can set the next chunk.


I’m a Tron collector, and I will buy anything Tron, but I started with the NECA 25th anniversary line. These were a bit easier to find and not as expensive. Once I had all the figures and vehicles, I moved on to the Tron 2.0 figures. With that complete I am now hunting the Tomy originals. Collecting this way helps you understand the market, it generates leads for the future, it gives you a better idea of pricing and it keeps you from getting frustrated.


As I said, nothing is set in stone and with that in mind if you see a good deal… well get it!


The second tip is education. Maybe you’re into collecting for the pure nostalgia of it and that’s great but knowing what you’re collecting is extremely helpful. Prices are always fluctuating and having a general idea will keep you from getting ripped off, while an understanding of even the basics of condition will benefit you when it comes to getting the best figure for your buck.


There are resources out there. eBay is ok, but make sure you look at what things are selling for and not what people are asking for them. There are a lot, and I mean a lot of uneducated individuals on eBay who think what they have is worth $200 when the going rate is closer to $50 (TMNT is a great example of this). Toyworth is an ok site and there are price guides available on quite a few lines. You can find a lot of these guides on Amazon. Personally, I google, read articles, talk to other collectors, browse auction sites, watch videos and buy and sell on a regular basis.


Another great place is RewindToys.com and the Rewind Toys Facebook page and Group 😉

I kid, but honestly education is part of what we do and we encourage community. We’re learning together and that is awesome!


Something that goes hand-in-hand with education is interaction. Don’t be afraid to talk to people. Are there snobs out there? Sure, there always are, but most of us Geeky toy collectors love to talk shop and meet new people. Go to conventions, go to toy stores, join groups online. Ask questions, people will answer! Share your love for a line and you will find like minded individuals, I promise! People will congratulate you on your recent score, will help you find things you need, will give you an idea of price if you’re lost and you might make a few new, amazing friends.


The third thing is budget. I will assume most of us are not rich and money is always a concern. I recommend giving yourself a monthly budget, especially at first. Allow yourself a certain amount to spend and try not to go over it. This will help your pocketbook sure, but it also helps with your searching and bargaining skills.

A bonus of budgeting is that it helps those in a relationship to keep from getting into hot water with your significant other!


If you go back to that education thing it will help you know what a good starting budget is. Try and not go over, but again, if something falls into your lap that is just too good to pass up.. you’re going to have to make the call but trust me, these things happen, and it is hard to say no.


The final tip is patience! When you first start collecting you want things right away, I get it! If you go out there gung-ho buying the first thing you see you are going to overspend and might end up with items that weren’t what you expected. If you take your time you can get quality for a bargain.


Being patient also lets you piece things together. I recently bought a lot of figures, mostly M.U.S.C.L.E. because I recently started collecting them, but there were two additional figures tossed in. One of those was a Battle Beast figure, a line I have been thinking of getting into. He wasn’t in bad shape and I got him for a steal if you figure he was mixed in. He did have a few issues, a missing decal and weapon to be precise. I found replacement decals online for $6 for 3, that means $2 for 1, and his replacement weapon for $9. If I break down what I paid for him (around $2) and then add in the $12 I’m at $14 for what will be a complete figure who loose will be worth around $20. Not only will it become an investment, but I also rescued a toy! Win-win! The process takes time and searching but to me worth it.




A couple years back I bought a lot of late 90’s GI-Joe characters because they were a really good price. It took me almost a year to find a buyer, but I took my time, researched the collectors and wound up making a nice profit.

I’ve spent countless hours at peddlers’ malls, flea markets, yard sales and online shopping and it has paid off. Is it always a win? No. But when it is the sense of geeky victory is like the best thing ever! Plus, the motto of Rewind Toys, The Hunt is Half the Fun, is our motto for a reason! Heck, its more than half the fun! Seeking out vintage toys, finding people to go toy hunting with and making a day of it, one of my favorite past times.

So, there you have it, a few tips for those who want to get started in collecting vintage toys. Now, go forth, seek awesomeness and remember, when it comes to Rewind Toys, The hunt is half the fun!


Jason Emmitt, Signing off.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page