top of page
Search

Air Raiders

Hasbro 1987


This is a short post today but there just isn’t a ton to say. Still, it was an interesting line and so I did feel it deserved a mention.


No cartoon, just a line of figures and vehicles and a back story that did have a short, five-issue comic book series published by Star Comics (a division of Marvel).


On the planet of Airlandia, (I know right) two warring factions fight for control of the… air? Yes, it is the plot of Sapceballs my friends. The good guys are The Air Raiders, which is not a great name for good guys, but you know. Anyway, they are a band of rebels trying to overthrow the evil Emperor Aerozar, and his 4 Lords of the Winds.




The Air Raiders' have a secret base hidden in a Petrified Cloud Forest, although I’m not totally sure what that is, it is one of the only safe places left for air in Airlandia.

Ok, so the story is weird, the toys were kind of cool. They used air to fire missiles and the like, and, while the figures were small (around 2”) and not overly detailed, the vehicles looked good. Only one series was released, and it consisted of The Air Raiders, which had the Battle Squad 5 man pack, the Command Outpost playset and five vehicles, the Thunderclaw, Twin Lightning, Storm Dagger, Man-O-War and Thunderhammer, and the Tyrants of Wind with the Enforcer 5 man pack, and four vehicles, the Wind Seeker, the Wind Razor, Dragonwind and Hawkwind.




As I mentioned there was no animated series to go along with the line, and that might have played a part in its demise. Oddly enough I didn’t recall these by name but as soon as I saw them, I remembered actually owning a couple. I’m not sure if that speaks on their popularity or not but, there you go.


Being that there was only one wave of toys produced (and I don’t believe they were released in large numbers) the Air Raiders are somewhat rare. I did a bit of online auction snooping and I was shocked when I saw a few of the prices. I figured these would run a bit higher but on average, the vehicles I saw were going for around $35-50. Not horrible considering.


Check out the podcast, Rewind Toys, available on Itunes and Amazon and a few other places, and please check out our Sponsor: https://www.entertainmentearth.com/?id=RE-010201518


You can join us over at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rewindtoyspage/


And last but certainly not leat, our mini eBook: https://mailchi.mp/c6e0bcd3a413/rewind-toys


Snag that and we’ll alert you as soon as the Full-Length book is available, coming soon!


You guys are always amazing, Thank you for reading and subscribing and until next we meet, when it comes to Rewind Toys, the hunt is half the fun!


Jason Emmitt, signing off.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by Rewind Toys. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page